About Malta | The Government

Malta is a republic and the Maltese population play a very active role in local politics. Voter turnout at general elections is amongst the highest in the world.

The House of Representatives is made up of 69 members of parliament, led by the Prime Minister.

There are 2 major politicial parties in Malta being the Nationalist Party (Chistian democratic party) and the Labour Party (Social democratic party).

The President of Malta is appointed for a five-year term by the House of Representatives. The role of the President is mainly ceremonial.